Tel Map
Michael Schrepfer

Michael Schrepfer

Software Developer

“What I enjoy most about programming is that it's always about solving problems.”

Who are you and what are you responsible for?

I am Michael and a Software Developer at illucIT. I originally come from the district of Hof, a small village near Naila. I came to illucIT because I was looking for a job for my master thesis in the field of Machine Learning in Würzburg. I’m a full-stack developer and responsible for Java, Scala or JavaScript development.

What is your professional background?

After I went to school, I did my Bachelors degree in computer science at the University of Applied Science in Hof. Since my girlfriend at that time wanted to study in Würzburg and I also wanted to do my master’s degree in information systems I originally moved to Würzburg. Afterwards I started looking for a company for my master thesis. That´s how I got to illucIT and I´m here ever since.

I have always been interested in computers, have been playing computer games and was responsible for all kind of IT related stuff in my family. This is how I realized computer science might be a good fit. While my studies I discovered my passion for programming.

What do you enjoy most about your work?

What I love the most is figuring out problems and developing solutions for them. I like development in general but I prefer backend over frontend. Besides that, I like exchanging knowledge with my colleagues.

Personal

Fun Facts:

Certified Pokémon Go player “Level 45” and therefore also “Unofficial Würzburg City Guide”.

I am also currently training to become an ornithologist. Through Pokémon Go I go out for walks a lot and so I also started to get interested in bird calls.

I am regularly singing karaoke at Till Eulenspiegel. (His friends regularly described him as “an undiscovered karaoke star”.)

What do you like to do in your free time?

Besides playing Pokémon Go, I also started playing the guitar. In the meantime, I can even play the song Wonderwall by Oasis. Apart from that, I like to watch series, play games on the PC, sing karaoke and spend time with my girlfriend.

Morning lark or night owl?

I would love to be a morning lark. I am totally an night owl though.

Coffee or energy drink?

Neither. But instead: Spezi.

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. For more information about cookies, please see our privacy policy.